W.W. Shay Award for
Industry Distinction


The North Carolina Pork Council W.W. Shay Award for Industry Distinction is to recognize and honor an individual who has exhibited outstanding service to the pork industry as an employee of a pork industry company or who has demonstrated significant support for the industry in a distinctive way. This award is named for William Warden Shay, who as the first swine extension officer in North Carolina instituted methods and techniques with the singular goal of ensuring profit and success for farmers from pork production in the state.


Nominee must be an employee of a pork industry company or an individual who has demonstrated significant distinctive service to the pork industry.

The award cannot be based on the contributions of the individual as an owner, operator, or contract producer engaged in pork production in North Carolina. The award, therefore, is meant for employees or related individuals, such as extension service officials, government officials, university officials, or other such allied support entities.

Selection Criteria

1. Contributions of the nominee to the pork industry through service, leadership or support to the industry.

2. Contributions of the nominee to the North Carolina Pork Council and involvement in its programs and events such as leadership roles and volunteer support.

3. Contributions of the nominee to family and community including church/civic activities and volunteer efforts.

4. Awards or special recognitions received as they relate to the nominee’s involvement in supporting pork production and agriculture.

5. PQA Plus and/or TQA certified, as well as PQA Plus site assessment if applicable.

6. Nominee’s record of environmental compliance, if applicable.

Decision Authority

Majority vote of the Awards Committee


Annual award


To fill out an application, please use this PDF form.


Please email all nomination forms to Terri Smith at terri@ncpork.org or mail to: NC Pork Council, Attn: Terri Smith, 1401 Sunday Drive, Suite 116, Raleigh, NC 27607.

Past Recipients

2018 – Roland Scheiber

2019 – Dexter Edwards


2021 – Frank Hollowell and David Lee

2022 – Charmae Kendall


Committed to People, Pigs, & the Planet