The Pork Checkoff’s Board of Directors is now accepting nominations to fill five, three-year terms that will begin July 2015. Nominees may be submitted by state pork producer associations, farm organizations or anyone who pays the Pork Checkoff, including pig farmers and pork importers. A minimum of eight candidates must be ranked by Pork Act Delegates before the nominees are sent to U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack for approval.

“Serving on the National Pork Board is a great opportunity for producers to show their support of the industry while helping to plan for a successful future,” Norton said. “The board plays a significant role, ensuring that the industry voice is heard on a national level.”

Any pork producer or importer who has paid all Checkoff assessments due or is a representative of a producer or company that produces hogs and/or pigs is eligible to serve on the National Pork Board. The 15 positions on the board are held by pork producers or importers who volunteer their time. Seats to be elected in 2015 are currently held by:

Dale Norton, Michigan 2nd term Not eligible for reelection
Lisa Colby, Massachusetts 2nd term Not eligible for reelection
Brad Greenway, South Dakota 2nd term Not eligible for reelection
Carl Link, Ohio 1st term Eligible for reelection to a 3-year term
Craig Mensink, Minnesota 1st term Eligible for reelection to a 3-year term

Candidates also are being sought for two open positions on the Pork Board Nominating Committee. Those appointed will serve a two-year term in 2015 and 2016. The Pork Checkoff Nominating Committee will solicit, interview, evaluate and recommend candidates to the Pork Act Delegate Body at the annual meeting March 5-7, 2015, in San Antonio, Texas.

The application deadline is Nov. 1, 2014, with interviews for each candidate to be held in Des Moines Dec. 11-12, 2014. Please direct application requests and questions to the National Pork Board by mail to 1776 NW 114th St., Clive, Iowa 50325. Or contact Teresa Wadsworth at (515) 223-2612 or at

The National Pork Board consists of 15 members, each serving a maximum of two three-year terms. The Pork Act requires that a minimum of 12 states be represented by the 15 Pork Board members.